Posted by: roamingolivia | February 19, 2010

I can’t email, but I can blog.


I have been here a couple days, and I have done some work, but I spend a high percentage of my time trying to figure out how I will get internet and/or a SIM card for my mobile. It is starting to get absurd because I have to send colleagues things from Google Documents; I can’t get into my email.

Other things I have done lately:

  • Googled opening hours in Italy for just about everything.
  • Googled every combination of mobile broadband and SIM cards and the various telecoms companies in Italy.
  • Figured out where Chinatown was, once I figured out that Ikea is too far away to go on foot/transport (as usual); I need a teapot, kettle, iron, etc. – not to mention dishwasher and laundry detergent.
  • Really, I’ve done countless Google searches on all kinds of practicalities.

That list will show you that it is amusing how little I know about living in Italy. It is pretty fun but I am also pretty spoiled from my easy life in England, where I understand more or less everything (although it took a long time to understand that country.) And I am spoiled from traveling with people who understand the language, etc.

Anyway I think I will leave early today to run errands. Especially because my first Italian strike is today as well: it’s a transport strike, and it starts at 6 p.m. Most people who live and/or are going outside the city this weekend already left work. I will leave at about 4:15 or 4:30.

Last night I went to the shop after moving into my flat. I bought random groceries, but more or less what I usually get at the grocery store, including a can of tuna in water. Today I figured out that my refrigerator may or may not work, or at least that it is not really very cold. The freezer is the temperature that your refrigerator would normally be. The situation is pretty hilarious.

It’s only day 2.5 but I am already a bit tired of doing so many things in Italian, since I don’t really know Italian, and I didn’t really remember what it’s like to just move somewhere you don’t know the language. But it is challenging in a way that is good and also hard. Probably I should study my Italian this weekend.

In the meantime, the Italian sandwich called piadina is DELICIOUS. That’s what you need to survive here, at the minimum.

Leave a Reply

Categories

