Posted by: roamingolivia | March 3, 2010

Bad photos from the antique market on the canals


I will have to apologise to Ms. Posh Deluxe before I do anything at all because honestly I have no observations about Milan Fashion Week. I would love to go to the shows, obviously, and the parties (more obviously), but I can’t be bothered to live the lifestyle the rest of the time, which makes fulfilling that pretty impossible.

However, on Friday night (which is right in the middle of Fashion Week and not before it, as my Italian colleagues told me and I didn’t bother to check online til the week was over), I did have aperitivo at a bar, where lots of ridiculously dressed hipsters stopped in. They would sit down in groups, and one of them would get a drink so that the waiters wouldn’t harass them. Then they would leave again, to go stand in the massive queue next door.

My main observation was how amusing it was that everyone in that crowd was dressed up as if they were really fashionable, and so many women were wearing heels they can’t walk in, whereas in normal life Italians dress stylishly but not ridiculously.

Sorry! I am not very useful. I almost tried to be useful.

Okay, as for my weekend, I went to a party at the house of a girl my coworker called to introduce me to, with the sole purpose that she is American and so am I. That was fun, and I met lots of other expat Europeans and Americans, in the broadest sense of the word (I talked to Mexicans, Brazilians, Germans, Russians, Italians, Spanish and Austrians).

The next day, some of these people met up for a pizza lunch at the canals, where there is also an antique market on the last Sunday of the month. You can get random things, and it’s an all-new opportunity for me to take totally random, and not that interesting, pictures (a habit I need to stop! but I am too shy):

The pizza place was (luckily) not that place, but I liked the bikes.

We went to i Capatosta, where the pizza was amazing (cheese, mushrooms, rocket/rucola, and spicy-ish pepperoni-like sausage, with the most amazing crust ever), and then we had espresso across the canal because a loud group came in to watch football (soccer), crowding us out.

I walked home via the shop where I bought a new blanket, but that’s the subject of tomorrow’s post. I will take more pictures soon, but am too shy about it lately. And don’t want all my new almost-friends to think I’m a camera freak.

Also it started raining during the espresso time so I gave up.

Here’s my breakfast today, which is not that Italian, but I did use warm milk with the coffee (made in an Italian moka pot), as one of my dear friends advised before I came here, and she was right – it’s way better. I wonder why that is?

Oh, and the castle near my house, which is on my way home from work:

Responses

  1. mmm … moka pot. best thing i ever bought. i have no idea why warm milk is better, but it totally is. although it’s rubbish in american coffee (which i make in a french press. so is it french? or american? whatever).

    it’s probably best your new friends learn you’re a camera freak eventually 🙂

  2. nice castle! i like the photo of your breakfast. sigh, why did i take 2 years of italian in college and not use it for anything but 5 days in italy?

  3. LISTEN; IF I WERE TO BECOME AN ITALIAN, I PROBABLY BE SO DOWN- TO-EARTH, U’LL SEE THE SICILIAN VILLAGER IN ME. NOT TO MENTION THE RAW-ENDED CRIMINAL HUMANITY . OR DID MAFIA GO TO SCHOOL, THEREFORE WILL BEGIN TO PRETEND HE DOESN’T HAVE SPECIAL ACUMEN FOR ORGANISED BUSINESS-CRIME?

    YOU’RE RIGHT, I’VE NEVER EXPERIENCED ITALIAN PRETENSIONS, EXCEPT PURELY BRED CRIMINALITY!

    NO! DON’T EXONERATE SILVIO!


Leave a Reply

Categories

