Posted by: roamingolivia | March 12, 2010

My birthday


I have only been in this country for a few weeks, so that is basically a record for how soon I have a birthday after moving somewhere. That’s not always a good sign, but the people – and Italy – made this a fun birthday (in addition to all the lovely messages I got on Facebook etc).

So, when I woke up, it looked like this outside my flat:

I.e., snowing but not enough to avoid work or anything.

There’s not much to say about the day at work – I had pasta at lunch, but I have pasta at lunch pretty much every day. Okay, it was higher-class pasta than usual. And I bought that sticky stuff you use to hang things on walls (in British something like blu-tac or something) so feel free to send me pictures, postcards, etc. I never “nest” if I am actually living in a place (always meaning to hang things on walls and never do), but when I’m traveling or feel temporary, then I do. It is some complicated psychological process I won’t bother to figure out or discuss.

Anyway, then after work the fun began. I first went to a mozzarella bar with my coworker Markus. This place is great; there are two but we needed to eat before our next activity, so we went to the one in La Rinascente department store near Duomo.

This place is a bar. About mozzerella. So that means, lots of mozzerella. And in general tasty food. We decided to go with a selection of everything, essentially. First, bread but that just comes with your food:

Then, the food – we got a selection of cheese,

and roasted veg,

and ham:

For more perspective, the whole table…

… and Markus’ food-anticipation face …

… and my plate (first serving of the first cheese):

Yum yum.

I forgot to take a picture of dessert, sadly.

Anyway, then we walked across town (it’s not that big) to the Carlsberg pub to watch the Milan-Manchester football game, but …

… that didn’t go that well.

I didn’t really watch it, we were talking (me, Claudio – new friend – and Georgi and Leila, whom you met earlier).

And then I talked on the phone to my mom on the way home, got flowers when I got home …

… and I talked to David and my grandmother.

The end.

Tomorrow I go to Venice. There’s a transport strike from 2 to 6 p.m. My train’s at 6.05 p.m. Wish me luck.

Responses

  1. Not the best night to be watching football, but sounds great. There’s an Obika in one of the hotels near Trafalgar Square now.

    Best of luck with Trenitalia – I fear you’ll need it.

  2. I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT A MOZZARELLA BAR IS A REAL THING THAT EXISTS. OMG. THAT IS AMAZING.

    i’m so glad you had such a tasty bday, my dear! you deserve it all– good food, good company and flowers!!!!!

  3. I’m glad it was a good day. Happiest birthday wishes always and much love.

  4. […] to be, as I got final confirmation a couple weeks before I moved in mid-February. I celebrated my birthday in March with a couple new friends, eating at a mozerella bar and watching football. Italian customs took my birthday gift for about a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

