Posted by: roamingolivia | March 24, 2010

Several things: administrative triumph


I finally got a plane ticket. One day I will write a novella about the process, so I don’t want to ruin the plot for any of you. Suffice it to say that I have completed the process, which had an unnecessary step added to it when the travel agent put the ticket in the wrong name. I think (read: hope) that next time will be easier because at least now I know what person is deemed appropriate to carry out each step of the booking.

In addition, I got my little badge that allows me to enter the building without surrendering my passport, which is great because I have been really paranoid that I would lose that all-important document (particularly after losing several things out of my pocket, including a driver’s license). The badge took about 5 weeks, so not a small amount of time. My colleague, who got here 2 weeks after me, got his 2 weeks ago. It’s that kind of system.

Now, if I could just get my birthday present released from customs…

So, to sum up: I am back in the UK for a bit starting Thursday. Maybe I’ll keep up the blog while I’m there; maybe not. I’m back after Easter.

Leave a Reply

Categories

