Posted by: roamingolivia | May 18, 2010

The internet and nesting


I have two things to say today, and they are really different.

First, I really love the internet. I also love to learn about alleged nutritional values of certain foods. You might think the word “love” is strong for both of those statements, but I can assure you that you would be wrong in thinking that. My favourite book in my London flat was “Supereating”, which is not even a real book, but a really complex scheme of foods to combine and also about free radicals. I love to read this stuff. I am not a source of information on this – I think this falls into my “don’t memorise stuff you can Google” mantra and thus is quickly deleted from my memory – but I really like to learn. Probably a fast check of my Google history would reveal several hundred, or perhaps thousands, of searches for things like the one I used tonight: why is cabbage good for you. The prose that accompanies the results from such searches is incredible. Free radicals! Antioxidants! Pseudo-science! I love it. Seriously, guys, check this out: Cabbage also offers protection against colon and lung cancer due to its isothiocyanate content.

Yep. Awesome.

Second, I have had a minor urge to nest lately. To most people, this means something like settling down and buying a home or something. Don’t worry, I am not going to such extreme lengths: I still worry about whether I have too much stuff to leave suddenly (hey, it’s happened before), although books are mysteriously exempted from this. But for me, nesting is stuff like buying a bookshelf (I only own 1 piece of furniture – a table – right now). Today, I did my most radical nesting move yet: I bought two plants – mint and basil. Both cost 99 cents so I am not so concerned about them, although I do worry they will fall off my window ledge and kill someone. But still! I am responsible for a living thing. First time. In history.

Responses

  1. This is hilarious! I have no idea what free radicals are. Also, whatever you do, don’t feel like you have to measure your ability to nurture by your ability or lack thereof to keep a plant alive. I currently have 3 houseplants dying in my apartment right now, but I manage to do OK with a human child! Children and pets are easier than plants, in my opinion, because they tell you when they need something. Plants just die in silence . . . 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

