Posted by: roamingolivia | July 26, 2010

NEW BOOK POLL on India


A couple weeks ago, I asked for book recommendations about or concerning India and/or Kashmir. I have taken many of those, and come up with a short list, based on the recommendations and other internet research.

Here is the short list:

  1. Surface by Siddhartha Deb
  2. Shalimar the Clown by Salman Rushdie
  3. English, August: An Indian Story by Upamanyu Chatterjee
  4. The Tiger Ladies: A Memoir of Kashmir by Sudha Koul
  5. Freedom at Midnight by Larry Collins and Dominique Lapierre

This is not the final short list, and I can’t guarantee that any of these will be what I buy, but I’d be happy to get your thoughts. Or make more recommendations. A fuller list of my other options is available here, on my Goodreads list.

Here’s the poll. Now vote (you can vote for more than one)! (Incidentally, if you choose “other”, please email me or comment to tell me what your suggestion was – the poll doesn’t work properly and so I don’t know!)

PS – Also I just want to get the new Shteyngart book but that’s cheating on my holiday…

Responses

  1. I have an “unvote.” I really didn’t like the Vikram Seth book, and don’t imagine it’ll tell you much at all about Kashmir, or about contemporary India.


Leave a Reply

Categories

