Posted by: roamingolivia | October 27, 2010

Where is my book?


I’m in this online book club, the Rumpus Book Club, where we read new books before they come out, and then review them, etc. It’s a great way to learn about new books, albeit somewhat expensive, but whatever. October’s book is The Instructions, which is 1,000+ pages long, and was mailed to the wrong address because I didn’t realise Paypal had an address that is literally 4 addresses ago (but only 2 years) as the default. I fixed that, but not before three books were mailed to the other address, which is luckily still inhabited by lovely former flatmates, who save my post.

However, a 1,000-page-long book does not fit in the mail slot, so a “While You Were Out” card was deposited instead. Upon returning to the UK, I went online to ask that it be redelivered to another post office in the same postcode (you can’t have it redelivered outside the postcode, which is boring).

Yesterday I trudged out through the rain to the post office during the work day, and then was told that my parcel is not there. I trudged back to work.

Today I called to figure out what happened. The man at the local redelivery office said it had definitely been delivered to that post office. I said it wasn’t there. He said it was. Now I have to go back. Sometime. Hopefully not in the rain. Maybe someone else will be working.

* * *

In other news, today someone at work asked me if I am being paid per website hit by the New Yorker, as I have personally publicised at least three of their articles today. I recommend the one on the Big Society, even if Tesco has had that “Every Little Counts” slogan longer than the Big Society has been around.

Leave a Reply

Categories

