Posted by: roamingolivia | October 29, 2010

Half term: when children ride the Tube


I know this title sounds cynical and/or critical, but this post will prove that wrong. Yesterday, when I was riding the Tube during lunch to go try to pick up my book for the second time this week (it worked the second time – yay), I looked around and noticed there were a LOT of kids on the Tube. I noticed they were with their parents, and that they looked more or less of school age. And yet they were very well behaved, so I wondered why they weren’t in school.

My friends, that’s because it is Half Term, the week when people bring their children to London. These kids were great. One fell asleep on probably a grandmother’s lap. Another was relatively old (maybe eight) and so she had to carry a suitcase off the train because the grandmother had to carry the other kid. She was very efficient in this task.

Another was licking one of the hand poles.

Another appeared to be staring at the roof of the Tube car the whole time, with hugely wide-open eyes, in a way that freaked me out a bit and I didn’t look at him again.

Probably my favorite was the little boy next to me on my way back from the post office, whose mother was sitting across the aisle from him and who was clearly experimenting with the sound of his voice, talking so quietly it was impossible to hear him, and a bit confused by the fact he appeared to be inaudible. He settled into the back of the seat and shaked his little chili-bowl hair cut when asked to repeat it.

Although the boy licking the pole is a good second-place favorite.

Responses

  1. Oh. My. God. Boy licking pole made me shudder. NASTY.

  2. I love this post! You’ve totally captured the essence of half term in the tube! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

