Posted by: roamingolivia | November 27, 2010

Live-blogging Thanksgiving


So, Thanksgiving in England is on Saturday because I can’t take time off work (but one year maybe I’ll do it – it sounds luxurious, to take a day off work to eat). And I am not really going to live-blog Thanksgiving but there’s some down time in the day now, so here’s more or less where we are:

Green beans for casserole

 

Kitchen chaos

 

Lots of peeling

 

Lots of groceries

 

Vegetables roasting

 

Green bean casserole (it’s since been cooked)

 

Raw turkey (goes into the oven soon)

 

I love Thanksgiving so much. I love it abroad – I think it’s a good expat holiday, celebrating food and being in a new place with new friends. Most of my friends here aren’t new, but they are lovely and nice, and you should see how much food we’ll have here later.

And to get in the mood, read this New Yorker article.

Leave a Reply

Categories

