Posted by: roamingolivia | December 28, 2010

Books of 2010: Appendix


Keep comments coming on this or my last post, but I wanted to add:

I just wanted to add a controversial statement: I didn’t enjoy Freedom by Jonathan Franzen. I don’t think it’s that good. I don’t think the writing was very good, he clearly hates women, and the story is annoying. I didn’t hate it, but the fact that it’s on everyone’s best-of-2010 list makes me want to hate it.

Hate mail can be sent to my home address. Ha. (No, but really, if you’ve read this – or The Finkler Question – and liked them, feel free to tell me why. I can take intellectual debates!)

Responses

  1. Typing from an iPhone so I can’t elaborate much but: it’s not very good. Characters are all caricatures, his politics are facile and obvious, and reader has no real reason to care about the misery of each character. Also not that clear why they’re miserable to begin with. Agree that a lot of franzen’s personal ugliness is on display here. Dear world: read the corrections instead.


Leave a Reply

Categories

