Posted by: roamingolivia | January 28, 2011

Explaining my absence


I found out this week that I actually can blog from work, even though I can’t use personal email or social networking (I can view Facebook but not post), so maybe I’ll just start using my blog to send highly confidential information to my friends and family. But to be honest, I don’t really want to start blogging on the job, and particularly not in my second week, even if I don’t have much work yet (I don’t).

So that is more or less why I haven’t been writing here. In fact, I am not really writing anywhere. I am re-learning this thing about myself, which is that I am essentially very much a person who needs a large amount of mental space to make life changes. I like repeating things a lot; I like having a schedule, and I’d usually rather watch the same movie 1,000 times (erm, You’ve Got Mail) than leave my house and see something else. I like when I come to work at the same time every day, and I will eat soup for lunch basically 95% of the time. I like

That is probably a weird thing to say about myself in public, considering I often organise all kinds of weird cultural events. And that’s the other side to me, which is that when the pattern in my life is sorted, I’m free to do crazy things.

So basically, this January, when I’m in a weird transition point – coming back from Christmas, transitioning from 2010 to 2011, finishing a job, starting another one – I have fallen off all the maps I usually use to chart my life. I have fallen off the map of my New Year Resolutions, and I don’t mean that I am not fulfilling them. I might be fulfilling them. I don’t know. My brain doesn’t want to or can’t focus on things like checklists. My brain and thought patterns can only dwell in shallow things for now.

This may or may not sound neurotic. Obviously, I could focus more if I wanted to or needed to, and I can work effectively, so it’s not like I have a crippling problem. And, luckily, I’ve been doing this big-changes-in-life regularly enough that I know it won’t last that long, and I’ll be back to planning and organising… soon.

 

In other news, I’m really geeking out on this Egypt thing. Luckily, I work in a field that means that other people are, too.

 

And my big work-related triumph this week is the fact I now know how to line my water bottle up under the water machine, so that it doesn’t get wet on the outside.

Leave a Reply

Categories

