Posted by: roamingolivia | May 9, 2011

Postcards: an explanation


For years – probably almost a decade now, embarrassingly enough – I have collected what I have often termed ugly postcards. I am starting to post these here on Mondays and Fridays, in the hope of generating comments or amusement.

First, though, I’d like to have a note of clarification on the purpose of these. Some of them will not be “ugly” postcards, per se, and my posting them here is not intended to imply that everyone will find them ugly. I am posting them for various reasons, ranging from irony to amusement to affection. A lot of them are going to be of Soviet architecture, partly because I bought a lot of old postcards in my travels. This is not meant to imply that these places themselves are ugly; I love and miss almost everywhere I visited.

In other cases, the postcards are just of poor quality, or hilariously cropped, or inappropriate (for racist or orientalist or other reasons).

So you can call this my ugly, inappropriate, weird, amusing or otherwise unusual postcard collection.

Responses

  1. […] I discussed in my disclaimer post, here, this is not meant to imply that Yemen is ugly or weird or whatever. It’s just a funny […]

  2. […] (Disclaimer / explanation here.) […]

  3. […] (Explanation of postcard posts here.) […]

  4. […] (Explanation of postcard posts here.) […]

  5. […] (Description of postcard posts here.) […]

  6. […] (Description of postcard posts here.) […]

  7. […] (Description of these postcard posts here.) […]

  8. […] (Description of this postcard theme here.) […]

  9. […] (Description of these postcards here.) […]

  10. […] postcards I bought there. The cover is here, and a disclaimer on these postcard posts is here. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

